Operating under Internal Revenue Service rules as a private foundation, The Frist Foundation is governed by its board of directors:

Thomas F. Frist Jr., Chairman, The Frist Foundation and
Chairman Emeritus, HCA Holdings, Inc.

Peter F. Bird Jr.,  President and Chief Executive Officer, The Frist Foundation

Frank F. Drowota III, Retired Chief Justice,
Tennessee Supreme Court

Patricia Frist Elcan

Patricia C. Frist,  Board Member, Ensworth School.

Thomas F. Frist III, Principal, Frist Capital, LLC

William R. Frist,  Principal, Frist Capital, LLC

Kenneth L. Roberts, President Emeritus, The Frist Foundation